Vauxhall Owners Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
638 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just in the middle of stripping my LET down.

In an ideal world i would like to change everything but if only money was no object...

Can i get away with the following things in the condition they are in...

Pistons have previous DET marks and slight scoring on the piston walls but the bores are fine... A bit glazed but nothing a hone wont sort..

My question is... DO i need new pistons or will these be ok. And will my crank need a polish of will i be ok.

·
Registered
19,876 Posts
i don't think that's det, looks more like a bang to me...

also, one (at least) of the crank journals looks like it's worn, but it's hard to tell with pics. can you feel anything if you run your fingertip across it?

·
Registered
183 Posts
the chip on the edge of that piston will get burnt away untill you loose compression , i dont think it would last 3000 miles .but im not an engineer so i may be wrong .
i wouldnt build an engine with iffy pistons , its too much work and money to get it all together only for it to need dooing again prety soon .

get second hand pistons or better still just bin the lot and go for a second hand block . itll save you time and money .

·
Registered
11,048 Posts
JackS said:

Are they supposed to be like that? Or have you had some piston to valve intimacy?
That looks to have had a valve hit the face as the cutouts look deeper than normal.

Just smooth off any sharpe edges and check the ringlands for any cracks :nod:

Also when having a hone - take your pistons with you and have them measure the piston to bore gap !!! I say that as the wear on your piston skirts look a little heavy ?? might just be the photo though. TO be within tolerance they should be about 1.5-2thou.