Vauxhall Owners Forum banner

Removing Head - On a time Limit!!!

2K views 57 replies 14 participants last post by  Laney 
#1 ·
I've never removed the head before. I've got up to the point of removing the Inlet Manifold. Not actually removed it but started. Do you think its possible to remove the head. change the gasket. change the water pump. and put it all back together (with necessary new bits) between 5:30pm until about 8:30 pm today and then 9:00am until 3:00pm tomorrow???

Any Tips?

Cheers

Andrew

#2 ·
I have never done a turbo before, but assuming it is just a gasket & water pump change you should have no problems, and that should be more than enough time.

I can do a N/A injection engine gasket change in a couple of hours if I don't rush and stop for a tea break half way through.

#6 ·
So provided I don't take the approach of Undo one bolt. Have a Beer. Undo next bolt. Have a beer. Yundoo nixt Bolt yav a ber. ndo nx blt. mmm beeerrrrrr. Hickup. Burrrpppp. What the fecjk was i doin. Oh ****** to it lets av a beer.

OK thanks for the advice guys.

I'm at donnington tomorrow while Monday and I was hoping to take my car. Fingers crossed I can get it sorted. If not i'm going in my mates F**d XR3i.....AGGGHHHHHHH!!!!

Would you remove the head with the Inlet attached?? Or leave it in?

#8 ·
to take the head off yuo can take off the nut that hold the inlet, and push it backtoward the bulkhead, and loosen the turbo manifold and push toward the front....but you`ll need to remove the rad/IC for more clearance....

PS u have a turbo so dont skim the head unless it warped...you increase the compression...not good!

#10 ·
Yep, I was thinking the same about the skimming. If it does need skimming (warped head) would low comp pistons be a good idea or would the thicker steel head gasket do the job. I've got 2 standard ones and although i don't know of any one having problem using 2 i'ld rather not. It seems like a 'corner cutting' job which i'ld rather avoid.